The composer

 

R oger Moreno-Rathgeb , born in 1956, grew up in Zurich as the son of a Swiss and a Sintiza and now lives in Vaals, the Netherlands, in the border triangle on the border with Germany and Belgium. He began his professional career as a composer and musician at the age of 15 with his first paid appearances as a guitarist and drummer together with a school friend. In 1974 he won a songwriter competition in Zurich with his song “War on War” and began a tour with his own solo program a year later.

 

He becomes a member of various musical formations and has led the "Gypsi Swing Quintet" since 1987. With him he produced the first LP in 1988 and a CD in 1993 and appeared before the Dutch royal family in 1992 and 2001. In 1995 he created his first classical composition, a symphonic poem entitled "The Gypsy Carawan". His first symphony ("The Polish") and the "Rhapsody Espagnole No. 1" follow.

 

He started composing the “Requiem for Auschwitz” in 1998, which he completed in 2009. Its world premiere will take place with the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic in 2012 in the Nieuwe Kerk in Amsterdam. By 2020 it has been performed 16 times, including at the Alte Oper Frankfurt am Main, the Berlin Philharmonic, the Frauenkirche in Dresden and the Berlin Cathedral.

 

In 2007 he became artistic director and arranger of the Gypsy ensemble "Tabor", with whom he is still on the road today - mostly himself heard as an accordionist. Roger Moreno-Rathgeb is involved in several TV productions. The 54-minute “arte” production “The Conductor and His Dream - The Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra” offers a deep insight into his artistic work. To date, he has composed around 160 songs in various styles and 16 classical works.

  • Facebook

Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra

Riccardo M Sahiti riccardomsahiti@rsphil.eu

Mobile: +49 152 29 22 5488

www.rsphil.com

Postal address:

Phiharmonic Association of Sinti and Roma Frankfurt am Main

Niddastraße 66-68 60329 Frankfurt am Main

imprint

Der Komponist

 

Roger Moreno-Rathgeb, geboren 1956, wächst als Sohn eines Schweizers und einer Sintiza in Zürich auf und lebt jetzt im niederländischen Vaals im Dreiländereck an der Grenze zu Deutschland und Belgien. Er beginnt bereits im Alter von 15 Jahren seine berufliche Laufbahn als Komponist und Musiker mit ersten bezahlten Auftritten als Gitarrist und Schlagzeuger gemeinsam mit einem Schulfreund. 1974 gewinnt er mit seinem Song „Krieg dem Krieg“ eines Songwriter-Wettbewerbs in Zürich und beginnt ein Jahr später eine Tournee mit einem eigenen Soloprogramm.

 

Er wird Mitglied verschiedener musikalischer Formationen und leitet seit 1987 das „Gypsi Swing Quintett“. Mit ihm produziert er 1988 die erste LP und 1993 eine CD und tritt 1992 und 2001 vor der niederländischen Königsfamilie auf. 1995 entsteht seine erste klassische Komposition, ein sinfonisches Gedicht mit dem Titel „The Gypsy Carawan“. Es folgen seine erste Sinfonie („Die Polnische“) und die „Rhapsodie Espagnole Nr. 1“.

 

Bereits 1998 beginnt er mit der Komposition des „Requiem für Auschwitz“, das er 2009 fertigstellt. Dessen Welturaufführung findet mit den Roma und Sinti Philharmonikern 2012 in der Nieuwe Kerk in Amsterdam statt. Bis 2020 ist es 16 Mal aufgeführt worden, darunter in der Alten Oper Frankfurt am Main, in der Berliner Philharmonie, in der Frauenkirche in Dresden und im Berliner Dom.

 

2007 wird er künstlerischer Leiter und Arrangeur des Gypsy-Ensembles „Tabor“, mit dem er bis heute – selbst zumeist als Akkordeonist zu hören - unterwegs ist. Roger Moreno-Rathgeb wirkt an mehreren TV-Produktionen mit. Einen tiefen Einblick in sein künstlerisches Schaffen bietet unter anderem die 54-minütige „arte“-Produktion „Der Dirigent und sein Traum – Die Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker“ .  Bis heute hat er rund 160 Songs in verschiedenen Stilarten und 16 klassische Werke komponiert.     

  • Facebook

Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker

Riccardo M Sahiti riccardomsahiti@rsphil.eu

Mobil: +49 152 29 22 5488

www.rsphil.com

Postadresse:

Phiharmonischer Verein der Sinti und Roma Frankfurt am Main

Niddastraße 66-68   60329 Frankfurt am Main

 

Impressum