The "Gypsy Camp" in Auschwitz-Birkenau

 

From February 1943, almost 23,000 Sinti and Roma were deported to the Auschwitz-Birkenau extermination camp. The majority came from the Reich: more than 13,000 women, men and children. The Sinti and Roma families arriving in Auschwitz-Birkenau were imprisoned in camp section B II e, which the SS referred to as a "gypsy camp". Up to 800 people were crammed into a barrack. The entire section of the camp was surrounded by an electrically charged barbed wire.

 

Of all the Auschwitz concentration camps, the "Gypsy Camp" had the highest death rate. 19,300 people fell victim to this destruction machine; 5,600 were gassed; 13,700 succumbed to hunger, diseases, epidemics and medical experiments. After selection by the SS, about 3,000 Sinti and Roma were deported to "extermination through work" in other concentration camps in the spring and summer of 1944. About 4,300 people remained in Auschwitz, mainly old people, women and children. The SS murdered them all in the gas chambers on the night of August 2 and 3, 1944.

Auschwitz45.jpg
The strings of the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra at the memorial ceremony at the memorial to the so-called "Gypsy Camp" in the former Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp in 2019
Video of the wreath-laying ceremony on August 2, 2019 at the memorial to the Roma and Sinti murdered in the "Gypsy Camp" in Auschwitz, plus the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra and the Geza Hosszu-Legocky with the main musical theme from "Schindler's List"
A symbolically significant moment on August 2, 2019 at the memorial of the so-called "Gypsy Camp" in Auschwitz-Birkenau: The American human rights activist Jessy Jackson (center) together with Romani Rose, chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma (second from right), next to it Rose's deputy Oswald Marschall and on the other side of Jessy Jackson Roman Kwiatkowski from the Roma Association in Poland.

Appeal from Auschwitz


On the occasion of the 75th anniversary of August 2, 1944, the European Holocaust Memorial Day for Sinti and Roma, August 2, 2019

75 years ago today, the last 4,300 Sinti and Roma still living in Auschwitz-Birkenau were murdered in the gas chambers. Auschwitz symbolizes the Holocaust in the 500,000 Sinti and Roma as well as in the six million Jews in Europe. Auschwitz is the conscience of the community of values of democratic states. For the first time, the representatives of the American civil rights movement and the civil rights movement of the German Sinti and Roma and the many Roma organizations in Europe are appealing from this place to the governments of the world community and the supranational organizations to consistently combat all forms of racism, antigypsyism and anti-Semitism . We call on parliamentarians in the national parliaments, the European Parliament and the parliamentary assemblies of international organizations to form an interparliamentary coalition against antigypsyism in order to counter the causes of flight and exclusion.


Together we demand political and social justice and thus dignity for all of our people. We demand that the international community actually recognize minority rights, which must be implemented in terms of access to education and work, housing and health. Sinti and Roma need a museum of Sinti and Roma history in Europe, just like the National Museum of African American History and Culture in the United States.


We all have to accept the legacy of the millions of victims, we all have to keep putting the moral and ethical values of our democracy at the center of our actions, and we have to stand together for democracy and the rule of law, for our humane values, worldwide.


First signatory
Reverend Jesse L. Jackson Sen., Rainbow / PUSH Coalition
Romani Rose, Central Council of German Sinti and Roma
Roman Kwiatkowski, Roma Association in Poland

  • Facebook

Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra

Riccardo M Sahiti riccardomsahiti@rsphil.eu

Mobile: +49 152 29 22 5488

www.rsphil.com

Postal address:

Phiharmonic Association of Sinti and Roma Frankfurt am Main

Niddastraße 66-68 60329 Frankfurt am Main

imprint

Das „Zigeunerlager“ in Auschwitz-Birkenau

 

Vom Februar 1943 an wurden nahezu 23.000 Sinti und Roma in das Vernichtungslager Auschwitz-Birkenau verschleppt. Der größte Teil stammte aus dem Reichsgebiet: über 13.000 Frauen, Männer und Kinder. Die in Auschwitz-Birkenau eintreffenden Sinti- und Roma-Familien wurden im Lagerabschnitt B II e inhaftiert, der von der SS als „Zigeunerlager” bezeichnet wurde. Bis zu 800 Menschen wurden in einer Baracke zusammengepfercht. Der gesamte Lagerabschnitt war mit einem elektrisch geladenen Stacheldraht umgeben. 

Von allen Lagern des KZ Auschwitz hatte das „Zigeunerlager” die höchste Todesrate. 19.300 Menschen fielen dieser Vernichtungsmaschinerie zum Opfer; 5.600 wurden vergast; 13.700 erlagen dem Hunger, den Krankheiten, Seuchen und medizinischen Experimenten. Nach Selektionen durch die SS wurden im Frühjahr und Sommer 1944 etwa 3.000 Sinti und Roma zur „Vernichtung durch Arbeit” in andere Konzentrationslager deportiert. In Auschwitz blieben etwa 4.300 Menschen zurück, vor allem Alte, Frauen und Kinder. Sie alle ermordete die SS in der Nacht vom 2. auf den 3. August 1944 in den Gaskammern.

Auschwitz45.jpg
Die Streicher der Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker bei der Gedenkveranstaltung am Mahnmal des sogenannten "Zigeunerlagers" im ehemaligen KZ Auschwitz-Birkenau im Jahr 2019
Video von der Kranzniederlegung am 2. August 2019 am Mahnmal der im "Zigeunerlager" von Auschwitz ermorderten Roma und Sinti, dazu die Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker und Geza Hosszu-Legocky mit dem musikalischen Hauptthema aus "Schindlers Liste"
Ein symbolisch bedeutsamer Moment am 2. August 2019 am Mahnmal des sogenannten "Zigeunerlagers" in Auschwitz-Birkenau: Der US-amerikanische Menschenrechtler Jessy Jackson (Mitte) gemeinsam mit Romani Rose, Vorsitzender des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma (Zweiter von rechts), daneben Roses Stellvertreter Oswald Marschall sowie auf der anderen Seite von Jessy Jackson Roman Kwiatkowski vom Verein der Roma in Polen. 

Aufruf von Auschwitz


Anläßlich des 75. Jahrestages des 2. August 1944, des Europäischen Holocaust-Gedenktags für Sinti und Roma, 2. August 2019

 

Heute vor 75 Jahren wurden die letzten 4.300 noch in Auschwitz-Birkenau lebenden Sinti und Roma in den Gaskammern ermordet. Auschwitz symbolisiert den Holocaust an den 500.000 Sinti und Roma ebenso wie an den sechs Millionen Juden in Europa. Auschwitz ist das Gewissen der Wertegemeinschaft demokratischer Staaten. Erstmals appellieren die Repräsentanten der amerikanischen Bürgerrechtsbewegung und der Bürgerrechtsbewegung der deutschen Sinti und Roma und der vielen Roma-Organisationen in Europa gemeinsam von diesem Ort aus an die Regierungen der Weltgemeinschaft und an die überstaatlichen Organisationen, jede Form von Rassismus, Antiziganismus und Antisemitismus konsequent zu bekämpfen. Wir fordern die Parlamentarier in den in den nationalen Parlamenten, im Europäischen Parlament und den parlamentarischen Versammlungen der internationalen Organisationen auf, eine interparlamentarische Koalition gegen Antiziganismus zu schließen, um der Ursache von Flucht und Ausgrenzung entgegenzutreten.


Gemeinsam fordern wir politische und soziale Gerechtigkeit und damit Würde für alle unsere Menschen. Wir fordern von der Staatengemeinschaft die tatsächliche Anerkennung von Minderheitenrechten, die umgesetzt werden müssen im Zugang zu Bildung und Arbeit, zu Wohnen und Gesundheit. Sinti und Roma brauchen in Europa ein Museum der Geschichte von Sinti und Roma, so wie es in den Vereinigten Staaten das Nationale Museum der Afrikanisch Amerikanischen Geschichte und Kultur gibt.


Wir alle müssen das Vermächtnis der Millionen Opfer aufnehmen, wir alle müssen die moralischen und ethischen Werte unserer Demokratie immer wieder neu ins Zentrum unsres Handelns stellen und wir müssen gemeinsam und weltweit für Demokratie und Rechtstaat, für unsere humanen Werte, einstehen.


Erstunterzeichner
Reverend Jesse L. Jackson Sen., Rainbow/PUSH Coalition
Romani Rose, Zentralrat Deutscher Sinti und Roma
Roman Kwiatkowski, Verein der Roma in Polen

  • Facebook

Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker

Riccardo M Sahiti riccardomsahiti@rsphil.eu

Mobil: +49 152 29 22 5488

www.rsphil.com

Postadresse:

Phiharmonischer Verein der Sinti und Roma Frankfurt am Main

Niddastraße 66-68   60329 Frankfurt am Main

 

Impressum