Riccardo M Sahiti and Federal President Joachim Gauck during the award ceremony

As part of the award of the ribbon of merit to Riccardo M Sahiti on October 4, 2016 from the hands of the then Federal President Joachim Gauck, the Federal President's Office published the following lines about the award:

 

"Riccardo M Sahiti, Frankfurt am Main Cross of Merit on ribbon

The conductor Riccardo M Sahiti founded the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra with great idealism in 2002. The internationally unique orchestra mainly includes musicians from these two tribes. They come together from symphony orchestras across Europe to perform works "rooted in or inspired by Roma and Sinti culture". This includes the classic repertoire by Brahms, Liszt or Bizet as well as new compositions by Roma and Sinti. With the "Requiem for Auschwitz" by Sinto Roger Moreno Rathgeb, premiered by the orchestra, Riccardo M Sahiti also helped to keep the painful history of Roma and Sinti alive. His work impressively shows how important the artistic creation of minorities was and is for the German and European culture and preserves the cultural heritage of the Roma and Sinti. "

Riccardo M Sahiti with Frankfurt's Mayor Peter Feldmann and Frankfurt's Department for Education and Integration Sylvia Weber in the Paulskirche in Frankfurt

  • The Roma and Sinti Philharmonic celebrated 600 years of Roma in Frankfurt am Main with an open-air concert on Frankfurt's Römerberg in autumn 2018: taking the celebrations for the reopening of the historic old town as an occasion, with several 1000 people the first mention of the Roma in Frankfurt to celebrate in concert in 1418. Other events were connected with the spectacular concert in the heart of Frankfurt: a ceremony at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Frankfurt am Main, a musicology panel on the importance of Roma and Sinti culture for European music history and a ceremony for the anniversary in the Paulskirche in Frankfurt.

Open-air concert on the Römer in Frankfurt as part of the celebrations for the reopening of Frankfurt's historic old town, combined with the celebration of the anniversary "600 years of Roma in Frankfurt"

Ceremony in the Paulskirche in Frankfurt on the occasion of the anniversary "600 years of Roma in Frankfurt"

  • On August 1st and 2nd, 2019, the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra will be musical guests of the International Holocaust Remembrance Day for Sinti and Roma in Poland. This includes a performance of the "Requiem for Auschwitz" in the Jagiellonian University in Kraków as well as the musical framing of a commemoration in the former Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp.

Remembrance at the memorial of the so-called "gypsy camp" in Auschwitz-Birkenau

  • On January 8, 2020 the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra will offer a New Year's concert in front of a full house in the Bockenheim depot with the title "Roma Romanticism". Speaker is Dr. Ina Hartwig, head of culture at the city of Frankfurt.

"Roma Romanticism" in the Bockenheimer Depot, in the picture with the soprano Alexandra Ruszó

  • For the 75th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz, the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra will perform the "Requiem for Auschwitz" in the Berlin Cathedral on January 26, 2020 together with the Synagogal Ensemble Berlin in the presence of Michael Roth, EU Minister of State at the Federal Foreign Office.

Performance of the "Requiem for Auschwitz" with the Synagogal Ensemble Berlin in the Berlin Cathedral

  • In October 2016, at the Bellevue Palace, Riccardo M Sahiti received the Federal Cross of Merit for the development of the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra from the hands of the then Federal President Joachim Gauck and thus for his services to the musical heritage of the Roma and Sinti and thus also to international understanding. A year later, the city of Frankfurt am Main honored the conductor in the Paulskirche in Frankfurt as "Outstanding Frankfurt personality with a migration background".

Pre-premiere of the film at the Körber Foundation in Hamburg with (from left) moderator Claudia Brüninghaus, Riccardo M Sahiti and film director Margarete Kreuzer in December 2014

  • In January 2015, the cultural broadcasting station "arte" also premiered the 54-minute documentary film "The Conductor and his Dream - the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra" directed by Margarete Kreuzer. The film received numerous other broadcasts on various channels.

Rehearsal on the stage of the Brauweiler Abbey at the Open Air Classic Nights

  • In 2014 the orchestra performed at the Classic Nights open air at the music festival Abbey Brauweiler. Patron and speaker of the concert was Dr. Jürgen Rüttgers, former Prime Minister of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia.

  • In 2013 the orchestra was a guest at the "Gstaad Menuhin Festival" and in 2015 at the "Heidelberger Frühling" festival.

Premiere of the "Requiem for Auschwitz" in the Nieuwe Kerk Amsterdam

  • In 2012, the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic went international with the "Requiem for Auschwitz" : After the world premiere in Nieuwe Kerk Amsterdam on May 3, further performances followed in Prague, Budapest, Frankfurt am Main, Krakow, Berlin and Wiesbaden. The Dutch broadcaster delivered a television broadcast .

The pianist Mihaela Ursuleasa with Riccardo M Sahiti at the end of the concert on the Hessischer Rundfunk

  • In 2011 the orchestra was the first to appear as a "Roma and Sinti Philharmonic" in a large symphonic line-up at the Beethoven Festival in Bonn to celebrate a celebrated Franz Liszt Night with the audience. The repetition concert with the same program in the broadcasting hall of the Hessischer Rundfunk remained the last encounter for the musicians with the Romanian pianist Mihaela Ursuleasa, with whom they played Liszt's first piano concerto before the Roma-born musician died completely unexpectedly in 2012.

Riccardo M Sahiti with wife Elisabeth and pianist Martha Argerich

Concert in the Kurhaus Wiesbaden, in the picture with the soloist Geza Hosszu-Legocki

  • In 2009 the orchestra presented itself for the first time as a chamber philharmonic in the Kurhaus Wiesbaden, that is, in a line-up expanded to include wind instruments. "Roma and Sinti Chamber Philharmonic Meet Friends" was the title of the concert, which made it possible to meet the world-famous pianist Martha Argerich in a sustainable manner.

The Roma and Sinti String Orchestra in 2007 after their concert in the large hall of the University of Music and Performing Arts in Frankfurt am Main

The first Roma Music and Culture Day 2007 at the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts: During the evening program in the foyer, music and dance created a special atmosphere.

  • The sixth concert of the string orchestra in 2007 will be remembered as an atmospherically unforgettable Roma and Sinti music and culture day at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Frankfurt am Main. In addition to a concert by the string orchestra, the Philharmonic Association held a workshop in Roma music for students and offered traditional Roma music from several countries with the performance of various formations. A musicological symposium dealt with the music of Roma and Sinti on a theoretical level. The first German television even devoted a contribution to this event in the ARD night magazine.

Applause at the founding concert in 2002

The history of the Roma and Sinti Philharmonic

(see archive for a detailed chronology)

 

 

  • With a foundation concert , the conductor Riccardo M Sahiti lifted on 3 November 2002, the Roma and Sinti String Orchestra in Dr. Hoch`s Conservatory launched. Frankfurt Mayor Petra Roth took over the patronage of this premiere. The musical guest was the well-known Roma violinist Roby Lakatos and his ensemble.

  • Facebook

Roma and Sinti Philharmonic Orchestra

Riccardo M Sahiti riccardomsahiti@rsphil.eu

Mobile: +49 152 29 22 5488

www.rsphil.com

Postal address:

Phiharmonic Association of Sinti and Roma Frankfurt am Main

Niddastraße 66-68 60329 Frankfurt am Main

imprint

Riccardo M Sahiti und Bundespräsident Joachim Gauck während der Verleihung

Im Rahmen der Verleihung des Verdienstkreuzes am Bande am 4. Oktober 2016 an Riccardo M Sahiti aus den Händen des damaligen Bundespräsidenten Joachim Gauck veröffentlichte das Bundespräsidialamt folgende Zeilen über die Ehrung: ​

 

"Riccardo M Sahiti, Frankfurt am Main   Verdienstkreuz am Bande

Mit viel Idealismus hat der Dirigent Riccardo M Sahiti im Jahr 2002 die Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker gegründet. Dem international einmaligen Orchester gehören überwiegend Musikerinnen und Musiker dieser beiden Volksstämme an. Sie kommen aus Symphonieorchestern ganz Europas zusammen, um Werke aufzuführen, die "in der Kultur der Roma und Sinti verwurzelt oder durch sie inspiriert sind". Dazu gehören sowohl das klassische Repertoire von Brahms, Liszt oder Bizet als auch neue Kompositionen von Roma und Sinti. Mit dem von dem Orchester uraufgeführten "Requiem für Auschwitz" des Sinto Roger Moreno Rathgeb hat Riccardo M Sahiti auch dazu beigetragen, die leidvolle Geschichte der Roma und Sinti wachzuhalten. Sein Wirken zeigt eindrucksvoll, wie bedeutend das künstlerische Schaffen von Minderheiten für die deutsche und europäische Kultur war und ist und bewahrt das kulturelle Erbe der Roma und Sinti."

Riccardo M Sahiti mit Frankfurts Oberbürgermeister Peter Feldmann und der Frankfurter Dezernentin für Bildung und Integration Sylvia Weber in der Frankfurter Paulskirche

  • 600 Jahre Roma in Frankfurt am Main feierten die Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker mit einem Open-air-Konzert auf dem Frankfurter Römerberg im Herbst 2018: Dabei nahmen sie die Feierlichkeiten zur Wiedereröffnung der historischen Altstadt zum Anlass, mit mehreren 1000 Menschen die erste urkundliche Erwähnung der Roma in Frankfurt im Jahr 1418 konzertant zu feiern. Mit dem spektakulären Konzert im Herzen Frankfurts verbunden waren weitere Veranstaltungen: ein Festakt in der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main, ein musikwissenschaftliches Podium über die über die Bedeutsamkeit der Roma- und Sinti-Kultur für die europäische Musikgeschichte sowie ein Festakt zum Jubiläum in der Frankfurter Paulskirche. 

Open-air-Konzert auf dem Frankfurter Römer im Rahmen der Feierlichkeiten zur Wiedereröffnung der historischen Frankfurter Altstadt, verbunden mit der Würdigung des Jubiläums "600 Jahre Roma in Frankfurt"

Festakt in der Frankfurter Paulskirche aus Anlass des Jubiläums "600 Jahre Roma in Frankfurt"

  • Am 1. und 2. August 2019 sind die Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker musikalische Gäste des Internationalen Holocaust-Gedenktages für Sinti und Roma in Polen. Damit verbunden sind eine Aufführung des "Requiem für Auschwitz" in der Krakauer Jagiellonen-Universität sowie die musikalische Umrahmung einer Gedenkstunde im ehemaligen Konzentrationslager Auschwitz-Birkenau.  

Gedenkstunde am Mahnmal des sogenannten "Zigeunerlagers" in Auschwitz-Birkenau

  • Am 8. Januar 2020 bieten die Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker in großer Besetzung vor vollem Haus ein Neujahrskonzert im Bockenheimer Depot mit dem Titel "Roma-Romantik". Rednerin ist Dr. Ina Hartwig, Kulturdezernentin der Stadt Frankfurt. 

"Roma-Romantik" im Bockenheimer Depot, im Bild mit der Sopranistin Alexandra Ruszó

  • Zum 75. Jahrestag der Befreiung von Auschwitz musizieren die Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker am 26. Januar 2020 im Berliner Dom das "Requiem für Auschwitz" gemeinsam mit dem Synagogal Ensemble Berlin in Anwesenheit von Michael Roth, EU-Staatsminister im Auswärtigen Amt.

Aufführung des "Requiem für Auschwitz" mit dem Synagogal Ensemble Berlin im Berliner Dom

  • Im Oktober 2016 erhält Riccardo M Sahiti auf Schloss Bellevue aus den Händen des damaligen  Bundespräsidenten Joachim Gauck das Bundesverdienstkreuz für den Aufbau der Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker und damit für seine Verdienste um das musikalische Erbe der Roma und Sinti und damit auch der internationalen Völkerverständigung.  Ein Jahr später würdigt die Stadt Frankfurt am Main den Dirigenten in der Frankfurter Paulskirche als "Herausragende Frankfurter Persönlichkeit mit Migrationshintergrund". 

Vorabpremiere des Films bei der Körber-Stiftung in Hamburg mit (von links) Moderatorin Claudia Brüninghaus, Riccardo M Sahiti und der Filmregisseurin Margarete Kreuzer im Dezember 2014

  • Im Januar 2015 erfolgte im Kultursender "arte" zudem die Erstausstrahlung des 54-minütigen Dokumentarfilms "Der Dirigent und sein Traum - die Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker" in der Regie von Margarete Kreuzer. Der Film erfuhr zahlreiche weitere Ausstrahlungen auf verschiedenen Sendern. 

Anspielprobe auf der Bühne der Abtei Brauweiler bei den Open Air Classic Nights

  • 2014 gastierte das Orchester bei den Classic Nights open air beim Musikfestival Abtei Brauweiler. Schirmherr und Redner des Konzertes war Dr. Jürgen Rüttgers, ehemaliger Ministerpräsident des Landes NRW. 

  • 2013 war das Orchester beim "Gstaad Menuhin Festival" zu Gast, im Jahr 2015 beim Festival "Heidelberger Frühling".

Uraufführung des "Requiem für Auschwitz" in der Nieuwe Kerk Amsterdam

  • 2012 rückten die Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker mit dem "Requiem für Auschwitz" ins internationale Rampenlich: Nach der Welt-Uraufführung in der Nieuwe Kerk Amsterdam am 3. Mai folgten weitere Aufführungen in Prag, Budapest, Frankfurt am Main, Krakau, Berlin und Wiesbaden. Der holländische Sender lieferte eine Fernsehübertragung.

Die Pianistin Mihaela Ursuleasa mit Riccardo M Sahiti am Ende des Konzerts im Hessischen Rundfunk

  • 2011 war das Orchester erstmals in großer sinfonischer Besetzung als "Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker" beim Beethoven-Fest Bonn zu Gast, um mit dem Publikum eine umjubelte Franz-Liszt-Nacht zu feiern. Das Wiederholungskonzert mit gleichem Programm im Sendesaal des Hessischen Rundfunks blieb für die Musiker die letzte Begegnung mit der rumänischen Pianistin Mihaela Ursuleasa, mit der sie Liszts erstes Klavierkonzert spielten, bevor die romastämmige Musikerin 2012 völlig unerwartet starb. 

Riccardo M Sahiti mit Ehefrau Elisabeth und der Pianistin Martha Argerich

Konzert im Kurhaus Wiesbaden, im Bild mit dem Solisten Geza Hosszu-Legocki

  • 2009 präsentierte sich das Orchesters im Kurhaus Wiesbaden erstmals als Kammerphilharmoniker, also in einer um Bläser erweiterten Besetzung. "Roma und Sinti Kammerphilharmoniker Meet Friends" lautete der Titel des Konzerts, der die nachhaltige Begegnung mit der weltberühmten Pianistin Martha Argerich möglich machte. 

Das Roma und Sinti Streichorchester im Jahr 2007 nach ihrem Konzert im Großen Saal der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main

Der erste Roma Musik- und Kulturtag 2007 an der Frankfurter Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst: Beim abendlichen Programm im Foyer sorgten Musik und Tanz für eine besondere Atmosphäre. 

  • Das sechste Konzert des Streichorchesters im Jahr 2007 bleibt als ein atmosphärisch unvergessener Roma und Sinti Musik- und Kulturtag an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main in Erinnerung. Neben einem Konzert des Streichorchesters veranstaltete der Philharmonische Verein einen Workshop in Roma-Musik für Studierende und bot mit dem Auftritt verschiedener Formationen traditionelle Roma-Musik aus mehreren Ländern. Ein musikwissenschaftliches Symposium beschäftigte sich auf theoretischer Ebene mit der Musik der Roma und Sinti. Das Erste Deutsche Fernsehen widmete diesem Ereignis sogar einen Beitrag im ARD-nachtmagazin.

Applaus beim Gründungskonzert 2002

Die Geschichte der Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker

(eine ausführliche Chronologie siehe Archiv)

 

 

  • Mit einem Gründungskonzert hob der Dirigent Riccardo M Sahiti am 3. November 2002 das Roma und Sinti Streichorchester im Dr. Hoch`s Konservatorium aus der Taufe. Frankfurts damalige Oberbürgermeisterin Petra Roth übernahm die Schirmherrschaft über diese Premiere. Musikalischer Gast war das der bekannte Roma-Geiger Roby Lakatos und sein Ensemble.

  • Facebook

Roma und Sinti Philharmoniker

Riccardo M Sahiti riccardomsahiti@rsphil.eu

Mobil: +49 152 29 22 5488

www.rsphil.com

Postadresse:

Phiharmonischer Verein der Sinti und Roma Frankfurt am Main

Niddastraße 66-68   60329 Frankfurt am Main

 

Impressum